Labels and Checking

Steps for Checking Labels:​​

  1. Look for any GF gluten symbol on the product. This guarantees gluten free and you can stop looking. 

  2. If no symbol, look in the ingredients section: down at the bottom there is a "contains" or "may contains" part. If you see gluten or any of the things that make up gluten, it is NOT gluten free (wheat is the most common ingredient, but not the only one you will find).

  3. If you see none, it may still be gluten, as manufacturers do not have to include gluten (just wheat) in the "contains". Check the ingredients first. If any contain gluten, it is again, NOT gluten free.

  4. If you see no ingredients, it is probably gluten free but you may want to call the company to ensure no cross-contamination or ingredients. 

  5. Again, it is up to you what to trust/eat. We always go by the rule, "When in doubt, go without!" but of course, it is up to you. 

You may be confused about how to check common foods in your household, but this problem can be solved with a few easy steps. Look below for some practical solutions and remember, there is always someone who can help-us, a doctor, a parent, or someone else!

Common GF Symbols:

Many brands have their own "GF symbol" on their products, making it hard to determine if something is gluten free or not. Here are some of the common ones we see often!

  • GF

  • Gluten Free

  • A slash through wheat

  • Contains no gluten

  • G (Wegmans)

​​

Gf label 9_edited
Gf label 10_edited
Gf label 8
Gf label 7
Gf label 6_edited
Gf label 3
Gf label 5_edited
Gf label 4
Gf label 2
Gf label

Calling a Company:

The best way to know "for sure" if a product is gluten free is by calling. You have to be specific when talking to a company and remember, "when in doubt, go without!". 

To call a company....

1. Look up their number on the product packaging or online.

2. Make sure you are clear in what you are asking and what you need when you call. 

3. When calling, ask for a direct representative (in the department you need), who knows about the product. 

4. If the person seems unsure or uneducated, ask for someone different or don't risk it. 

5. Make sure you understand what they are saying....is it made in the same facility, using the same equipment, does it have gluten ingredients, is the company aware of celiac disease?

6. Thank them for their time, even if the information did not help you. You should always be polite. 

​​

Check out common GF labels by moving around the pictures!

​​

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Feel free to write us an email and we will hopefully respond!